Partai Demokrasi Indonesia

The Indonesian Democratic Party (Partai Demokrasi Indonesia, PDI) was established on January 10, 1973. It was founded by a group of intellectuals and political activists, including figures such as Soepomo, Iwa Kusumasumantri, and Slamet Bratanata. The party was formed as a response to the authoritarian rule of President Suharto, who came to power in the mid-1960s.

The PDI was initially established with the goal of providing an alternative to the ruling Golkar party, which was the only permitted political party under Suharto's New Order regime. The PDI aimed to promote democratic principles and challenge the dominant political structure of the time.

Over the years, the PDI became one of the major political parties in Indonesia and played a significant role in the country's transition to democracy in the late 1990s. It experienced internal conflicts, particularly in the late 1990s, leading to a split into two factions: PDI-P (Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle) and PDI-Struggle. PDI-P, led by Megawati Sukarnoputri, became one of the prominent political forces in Indonesia and eventually produced two Indonesian presidents: Megawati Sukarnoputri and her successor, Joko Widodo.


Popular posts from this blog

Danramil/ 05 Tanjung Balik Laksanakan Penanaman Vetiver

Latihan Staf Operasional Super Garuda Shield